Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Become a Member
Community Search
Virginia A. Hodgkinson Research Book Prize
Share |

The Virginia Hodgkinson Research Prize is awarded by ARNOVA on an annual basis, and is given to the best book on philanthropy and the nonprofit sector that informs policy and practice.


The prize recognizes the pioneering role of Virginia Hodgkinson in the research on philanthropy and nonprofit organizations. In her role as vice president of research at Independent Sector, Virginia played a leading part in advancing our understanding of the role of the nonprofit sector in the United States and abroad. She also was instrumental in developing many of the important institutions and organizations supporting research on philanthropy, volunteering and nonprofit organizations and was a mentor to many scholars and policymakers in the field.


<< Back to Awards



Previous Recipients


Emily Barman Boston University, "Caring Capitalism: The Meaning and Measure of Social Value"



Chelsea Clinton, Clinton Foundation and Devi Sridhar, University of Edinburgh, “Governing Global Health: Who Runs the World and Why?”
View Citation



Pamala Wiepking, Erasmus University Rotterdam, and Femida Handy, University of Pennsylvania, "Palgrave Handbook of Global Philanthropy"



Monika Krause, University of Longon, "The Good Project: Humanitarian Relief of NGOs and the Fragmentation of Reason" 


First Prize: 
Sarah Reckhow, Follow the Money: How Foundation Dollars Change Public School Politics (Oxford University Press)


First Prize: 
Woods Bowman, Finance Fundamentals for Nonprofits with Website: Building Capacity and Sustainability, (John Wiley & Sons, 2011.)

Honorable Mention: Mark R. Warren, Karen L. Mapp, and the Community Organizing and School Reform Project, A Match on Dry Grass: Community Organizing as a Catalyst for School Reform (Oxford University Press).


Elisabeth S. Clemens and Doug Guthrie (Eds.). Politics and Partnerships: The Role of Voluntary Associations in America’s Political Past and Present, (The University of ChicagoPress, 2010).


Brenda Bushouse, Universal Preschool: Policy, Change, Stability and the Pew Charitable Trusts, State University of New York Press.


Andrew J.F. Morris, The Limits of Voluntarism: Charity and Welfare from the New Deal through the Great Society, (Cambridge University Press)


Ram Cnaan & Carl Milofsky, The Handbook of Community Movements and Local Organizations (Springer)


Dara Strolovitch, Affirmative Advocacy: Race, Class and Gender in Interest Groups Politics (University of Chicago Press)


First Prize: Mary Ellen S. Capek, Molly Mead, Effective Philanthropy: Organizational Success through Deep Diversity and Gender Equality(MIT, 2006)
Honorable Mention: Samantha King, Pink Ribbons, Inc.: Breast Cancer and the Politics of Philanthropy (University of Minnesota, 2006)


Francie Ostrower, Attitudes and Practices Concerning Effective Philanthropy


First Prize
: Pippa Norris and Ronald Inglehart, Sacred and Secular: Religion and Politics Worldwide 
Honorable Mentions: Richard Chait, Bill Ryan, and Barbara Taylor, Governance as Leadership: Reframing the Work of Nonprofit Boards; and 
Steven Dubb and Gar Alperovitz of The Democracy Collaborative, Building Wealth: The New Asset-Based Approach to Solving Social and Economic Problems.


First Prize: Marc Morje Howard, The Weakness of Civil Society in Post-Communist Europe
Second Prize: Marion Fremont-Smith, Governing Nonprofit Organizations: Federal and State Law and Regulation


First Prize: Benjamin Gidron, Stanley Katz, and Yeheskel Hasenfeld, editors, Mobilizing for Peace: Conflict Resolution in Northern Ireland, Israel/Palestine and South Africa
Second Prize: Lawrence Friedman and Mark McGarvie, editors, Charity, Philanthropy and Civility in American History


First Prize: 
“Government-Nonprofit Relations in Comparative Perspective,” a special issue of the journal Public Administration and Development, with guest editors Jennifer M. Brinkerhoff and Derick W. Brinkerhoff. Other contributors to the issue are Lori Brainard, Juliet Musso, Arthur Goldsmith, Denis Bouget, and Philip Warin
Second Prize: Going Global: Transforming Relief and Development NGOs, co-authored by Professor Coralie Bryant and the late Professor Marc Lindenberg


First Prize: 
Lester M. Salamon, Helmut K. Anheier, Regina List, Stefan Toepler, S. Wojciech Sokolowski, and Associates, Comparative Nonprofit Sector Project, The Johns Hopkins Center for Civil Society Studies, “Global Civil Society: Dimensions of the Nonprofit Sector”
Second Prize: James E. Austin, Initiative on Social Enterprise, Harvard Business School, “The Collaboration Challenge: How Nonprofits and Businesses Succeed Through Strategic Alliances”


First Prize: 
Richard A. Couto, University of Richmond, "Making Democracy Work Better: Mediating Structures, Social Capital, and Democratic Prospect"
Second Prize: Burton A. Weisbrod and Cagla Okten, Northwestern University, "Determinants of Donations in Private Nonprofit Markets"


First Prize: Joseph Galaskiewicz, University of Minnesota, and Wolfgang Bielefeld, Indiana University, "Nonprofit Organizations in an Age of Uncertainty: A Study of Organizational Change" 
Second Prize: Kirsten Grønbjerg, Indiana University Center on Philanthropy, "Mapping Small Religious Nonprofit Organizations: An Illinois Profile"


Paul Schervish and John Havens, Boston College, "Social Participation and Charitable Giving: A Multivariate Analysis"

more Calendar

11/21/2019 » 11/23/2019
Exhibitor Registration - 2019 ARNOVA Conference

11/21/2019 » 11/23/2019
2019 ARNOVA Conference

Online Surveys

The Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action (ARNOVA) is a diverse community of scholars, educators, and practice leaders that strengthens the field of nonprofit and philanthropic research in order to improve civil society and human life.

441 W. Michigan St. | Indianapolis, IN 46202 | Phone: 317.684.2120 | Fax: 317.684.2128
2014 Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal