Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Become a Member
Community Search
Virginia Hodgkinson Research Book Prize Application
Share |

Virginia A. Hodgkinson Research Book Prize

ARNOVA is pleased to announce the opening of submission for our annual book awards on the subjects of philanthropy, nonprofit organizations, voluntary action, and civil society. ARNOVA is the leading network of researchers, university faculty, and practice leaders who focus on these subjects in their teaching, writing, and policy work. We seek to honor the most impressive work in these areas.  Books published in 2015, 2016, or 2017 are eligible for these awards. Publishers are invited to submit books they believe should be considered for these awards. Nominations should include a letter explaining why the book should be considered and include the submission of ten (10) copies of the book for the review committee. Please include name, email address, mailing address, institution, and phone number for both nominee and nominator(s).


The Virginia Hodgkinson Research Book Prize honors the best new published research that focuses on, and is likely to positively impact, the application of new knowledge to practice and policy issues in the nonprofit realm. The award is given to the best book on philanthropy and the nonprofit sector that informs policy and practice. The prize is awarded in honor of Virginia Hodgkinson's pioneering research on philanthropy and nonprofit organizations. Books must have been published within the three calendar years preceding the award (2014, 2015, 2016, and 2017). Books can be considered more than once. Entries must be published by a university press or commercial publishing house.

Submissions from any discipline and multi-disciplinary approaches are welcome; and submissions are encouraged from young scholars, practitioners working with other researchers. Prior prize recipients are ineligible for a five-year period after their award is received. AWARD AMOUNT: $1000

Award recipient(s) are required to attend the ARNOVA Awards Luncheon on Friday, November 16, 2018 at the Hilton Austin in Austin, Texas. They may also serve on a panel to present their award-winning research as part of a mini-plenary on the same day.

Submission Open: February 15, 2018
Deadline: April 16, 2018
Awardee Notification: July 9, 2018
Award Announcement: September 12, 2018


ARNOVA Book Awards

Virginia A. Hodgkinson Research Book Prize
ATTN: Holly Titus, Associate Director
441 West Michigan Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202


 Submissions now closed - please come back next year! 





more Calendar

11/14/2018 » 11/17/2018
Exhibitor Registration - 2018 ARNOVA Conference

Online Surveys

ARNOVA is a leading interdisciplinary community of people dedicated to fostering through research and education, the creation, application and dissemination of knowledge on nonprofit organizations, philanthropy, civil society and voluntary action.

441 W. Michigan St. | Indianapolis, IN 46202 | Phone: 317.684.2120 | Fax: 317.684.2128
2014 Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal